Snapshot of the Week: Stuck in France

I was supposed to travel to London last Wednesday and spend the week with my sister, celebrating her birthday and spending some much-needed time together. However, due to aforementioned strikes, not only did I not reach London on Wednesday, but I have not managed to get any closer to London at all.  The government and the strikers don’t seem to realize that it’s my sister’s birthday tomorrow, and it is therefore essential that they all reach an expeditious compromise.

We drove to Toulouse on Sunday (I think mainly to give me a false sense of movement, of accomplishment) and nearly ran out of gas on the way back because many gasoline pumps throughout France are actually running dry!

This basically sums up how I feel right now (physically, psychologically and creatively):

This photo was taken after our ghost hike.  We were stuck in cow traffic for about 10 minutes, before a merging lane of cows tumbling down the adjacent hill and crashing into our lane, barely missing our car, made the cow herder turn around and see us and move his herd to the side of the road.

Happy Ending:

I hope that my currently thwarted attempt to travel will have an equally happy ending.

~ by zoetropic on October 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Snapshot of the Week: Stuck in France”

  1. Thanks for a tiny glimpse of when cows and traveled road meet! The background sounds of cowbells on the move was totally appropriate. Yay! I’ve been to southern France.

  2. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also…

Leave a Reply

 
